The Little Prince Review

The Little PrinceThe Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The Little Prince is a special novel and I would have loved to read it when I was a child, but alas, I did not. My sister bugged me to read it recently, because it’s one of her all-time favorites. It’s a really short, quick read, so I thought “sure, whatever” since I wouldn’t lose much time in any case.

The first few pages went by so quickly, because the style of writing is clearly aimed at children. I felt like I was reading a 5th grade literature textbook or something like that.

A few pages on, and you are introduced to the little prince, a curious character indeed. You learn more about his life and here is where the book lost me for a while. I felt like I missed out on a chapter or two, because there is a jump in the narrative that actual children would have NO problems with whatsoever. The book makes a sharp turn towards the fantastical, and I can’t help but imagine that a child could’ve read this without problems. They are much better than grown-ups at suspending their disbelief.

To be perfectly honest, I was really bothered by my reaction. I kept on reading anyway, and just went with the flow. It’s a curious quality that children have. Once you are on board with “The Little Prince”, the story goes on a streak of thought-provoking chapters.

Basically, this story is about childish innocence and the foolishness of adults in a foolish adult world. You see how I’m being very vague, I’m trying not to spoil the story. You’ll have to see for yourself.

“The Little Prince” is a book for all ages, but I actually believe that it’s the most impactful for grown-ups, who need to get in touch with their own inner child again. Not for some lost sense of joy, but as a way to readjust their attitude to what’s truly important in the world. I know only too well how easily this crazy world can twist people’s mindsets to the worse.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

