Bioshock Infinite – Immediate thoughts after the end

Don’t read if you don’t want spoilers!

Oh my god. Oh my god. What I just played was probably the closest a video game has ever gotten to being a Stanley Kubrick movie. For these last 3 hours in Bioshock Infinite there was no assurance what is real and what isn’t. The game heaps one mindfuck after the other on you and asks you to push the nagging thoughts aside to focus on the next intense firefight. What then transpired at the very end left me with my jaw firmly planted on the desk, for I had witnessed the greatest mindfuck/story twist any game, and quite possibly any storytelling media ever had.

There’s too much to analyse and absorb right now. It’s the same feeling I had at the end of 2001 A Space Odyssey. Reality falls apart, and every theory I could hastily muster to try to make sense of it all is tossed away as the next piece of exposition is fed to me, prompting me to reassess things all over again. To Irrational Games’ credit, this time, they kept the tension and momentum going until the VERY end, which was a point of critique with the original Bioshock.

I shall write up a more composed review later on.

Bioshock Infinite

Leave a Reply

